Boyd County

Ashland Assisted Housing - April: Fair Housing Month Newsletter

newsletter special edition2
Every year, HUD, local communities, fair housing advocates, and organizations across the country commemorate April as Fair Housing Month. 

The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing.  The prohibitions specifically cover discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, and the presence of children.

No one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or handicap:
  • Refuse to rent or sell a house.
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing.
  • Make housing unavailable.
  • Set different terms, conditions, or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling.
  • Provide different housing services of facilities.
  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, rental, or sale.
  • For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent (Blockbusting).
In addition if someone has a physical or mental disability that substantially limits one or more major life activities, have a record of disability, or regarded as having such a disability no one may:
  • Refuse to make modifications to your dwelling or common use areas, at your expense, if necessary for the disabled person to use the housing. 
  • Refuse to make reasonable accommodations in rules, policies, practices, or services if necessary for the disabled person to use the housing.